Street style event shooting, my approach

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Street style event shooting, my approach

I have been asked on a number of occasions how I shoot folk at events like 1940's Weekends -as in this thread

So I thought I'd do a brief summary of how I tackle such situations.
    I've been shooting these kind of events for a few years now, and developed an approach that works for me, there are plenty of experienced togs on the forum that may have different, but just as valid ways of shooting similar events.

Equipment

Keeping it Simple is probably the most important aspect, therefore I take one camera body (1Ds MKIII) and 2 lenses (135mm F2 & 85mm F1.2) and I spend half the day with one lens, and swap it for the other lens for the other half. No specific reason for this apart from slight variation it gives me. If I had to take just one lens (on a FF body) it would be 135mm F2, mainly because it auto focusses at lightning speed compared to 85 mm. If I was to take a 1.6 crop body, then it would be a 50mm lens I would take. I've used zooms in the past, but am a lot more comfortable with primes, mainly because they are a 'faster' lens, when it comes to this type of shooting, is so important, which I'll go into detail more in settings. I avoid long lenses also, I find 135mm (on a FF body) probably the max length and still be able to keep in communicating distance with the subject. Similarly, wide lenses I've used in the past, but because it's difficult to control the backgrounds, I find them less than satisfactory, but then my main aim is to shoot people either individually, in pairs or small groups.

The only other bit of kit I take is a flash, (580EX), and it's permanently on the camera throughout the day, with a stofen diffuser in place.

Camera Settings