Cardiff v Blackburn - for Gary Speed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Cardiff v Blackburn - for Gary Speed

Very emotional game on Tuesday night. I was a little unsure of etiquette for photographing minute silences, I decided as I'm not a pro and dependant on the shot for a living that I would shoot the applause minute and rested my camera on the floor and paid my respects to Gary Speed with the fans for the silence minute.

I've had some great tips on here about placement etc...and I'm really starting to see a difference with my shots. As always thanks for looking!

IMG_5543 by Bexman, on Flickr

Miller dedicates his strike

IMG_5595 by Bexman, on Flickr

Shame I lost the top of the goal post in this one

IMG_5797 by Bexman, on Flickr
    Mike

Canon 1D MKIV, Canon 7D, Canon EF300 F2.8, Canon 70-200 2.8 IS Mk II, Canon 17-55 IS, Canon EF100 F2.8, Canon 1.4 TC MKIII, 580 ex flashgun - yongnuo yn-565ex

www.MGSportsImages.co.uk

Re: Cardiff v Blackburn - for Gary Speed

Three good shots there, you must be very pleased.

Minutes silence/applause are always awkward things to snap. I only snap them if I feel they are really news worthy (which this one was). Often you would do better with a wide angle lens, but its not always practical just before the match to be swapping lenses on cameras. The applause usually makes the better photo as the playershave their heads up and that one works ok, if the officials were on the other side it would have been even better. I tried something a little different on Tuesday. I was behind the the goals so I focused in on the players furthest away who were facing me, so I had their full line up, but only half of the players who had their backs to me. Kept the players with their backs to me in soft focus and the players towards me, in sharp focus and it worked ok.