7D and the integrated speedlite transmitter

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

7D and the integrated speedlite transmitter

Have recently bought a 7D (upgrade from 400D) and so far absolutely love it!

Had a quick play with the integrated speedlite transmitter and my 430EX last weekend but couldn't figure out how to fire just the speedlite on its own. It seems the built in flash has to fire in order to trigger the speedlite. Is this right? I'm guessing/hoping not as I'd like to experiment with some back lit shots.

Would appreciate any advice?

Thanks,
    Dan
    “Quality is never an accident; it is always the result of intelligent effort.” John Ruskin

Re: 7D and the integrated speedlite transmitter

Hi Dan, I had a play with that a few weeks ago, I'm far from an expert with the 7D flash trigger however
    I can confirm that it deffo works with the pop flash down :-)

I was uisng 580ex and ex ii s - I think you need to set your 480 ex to slave.
    If all else fails read the manual, I haven't got round to that myself

Millie

Comment

Hi,
      You may find these of interest.

Ray
      Ray

Comment

Thanks Millie and Doglet but now I'm real confused and thinking there may be a problem with my camera

I've read the manual and it states that the pop up flash must be up in order to operate wireless flash to quote page 120 "For wireless flash, be sure to pop-up the built-in flash"

So I've done this and set the Flash Control / Built-in flash func. setting / Wireless func. to speedlite only symbol and have set my speedlite to slave. I'm using the default channel and Slave group (1 / A)

I don't think there is anything else I need to do but still the pop-up flash fires!

In fact, if I try and disable flash through the menus or keep pop-up flash down or cover the pop-up flash, then no flash is fired. The manual states the slave unit is triggered by the built-in flash's light pulse signal - I just wasn't expecting this to affect exposure!