Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

New photographer - Zoom Lens help please!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New photographer - Zoom Lens help please!

Hi Guys

I'm a relatively new photographer, I'm half way through my first course in photography and I'm using a Canon 400d and at present ahve a 50mm prime lens and an 18-55mm lens.

Now my question is i'm going to see an NBA match at the O2 in London in October and I want to shoot some pictures, I also hold a season ticket at a football ground and want to shoot some pics there too. My problem is I dont have hundreds to spend on a zoom lens, and my photography teacher seems to recommend I go for a zoom with Image Stabilization on it. I've seen the Canon 70-300mm III lens for about £100 widely available but ofcourse they dont have IS. I can get a 55-250mm canon lens with IS for about £140 but will this have the length to shoot sports reasonably well? And will it be any good? Or can anybody recommend an alternative for a max budget up to £200? ($250)

Thanks in advance guys
    Mike

Canon 1D MKIV, Canon 7D, Canon EF300 F2.8, Canon 70-200 2.8 IS Mk II, Canon 17-55 IS, Canon EF100 F2.8, Canon 1.4 TC MKIII, 580 ex flashgun - yongnuo yn-565ex

www.MGSportsImages.co.uk

Re: New photographer - Zoom Lens help please!

Here's some good news.

With respect to your photography teacher, you don't need IS to shoot sports or wildlife. Many people consider IS to be a magic wand to get sharper shots, but it only achieves that under specific circumstances. Image Stabilisation reduces, or stops camera shake when you are using slow shutter speeds, by between 2 to 4 stops, depending on the lens. This means that if you are handholding the camera and shooting a stationary object, if there wasn't enough light to shoot with a shutter speed of 1/250 sec, you could still get an acceptably sharp picture by shooting at 1/15 sec, assuming a 4 stop IS (1/60 sec if a 2 stop IS).